How do I automatically transfer photos once a day?

To automatically transfer your new photos once a day, PhotoSync under iOS 13 since version 4.1 offers the possibility to set up an autotransfer that starts at a certain point in time when your iOS device is connected to the charging cable.

PhotoSync settings
PhotoSync settings

To set up an autotransfer, open the PhotoSync settings and select Autotransfer. The first time you set up autotransfer, you will see an information screen that will inform you about the various autotransfer triggers, you can trigger an autotransfer either based on location, when you arrive at a certain location, or from a fixed time when your device is connected to the charger cable.

Autotransfer information screen
Autotransfer information screen

Select Configure to set up your autotransfer. The first step is to select your autotransfer destination. If you want to transfer to a computer, you must select the computer. The computer must be running and reachable at the time of triggering, the autotransfer will not be executed if you start the computer at a later time.

Step 1: Available autotransfer targets
Step 1: Available autotransfer targets
Step 2: Computer selection
Step 2: Computer selection

After selecting the transfer destination, select the method with which the autotransfer is to be triggered. Now select Autotransfer is executed when you charge your device. PhotoSync will set up a trigger for a fixed time when you most likely connected your device to the charger cable. The default is 2am, but you can choose any other time when you are sure your device is connected to the charger cable.

Autotransfer trigger selection
Autotransfer trigger selection

If there should be an error message that the trigger cannot be created, it is most likely because you have not activated the Background App Refresh or have not enabled it for PhotoSync. You can find the Background App Refresh settings in the iOS settings under General, Background App Refresh.

iOS Background App Refresh
iOS Background App Refresh

Select a start date from which photos marked as New should be transferred by the autotransfer. Select whether the Recents album should be used as the source for your autotransfer or whether you want to transfer only photos from certain user albums automatically.

Autotransfer charging trigger for 10am
Autotransfer charging trigger for 10am

This type of triggering is also subject to certain conditions under iOS because of the many restrictions. iOS will only trigger the start of PhotoSync from the specified time if your device is connected to the charger cable and if PhotoSync is in the list of recently used apps. The trigger will not work if you remove PhotoSync from the list of recently used apps by wiping. This is a basic requirement of iOS for this trigger to work.

PhotoSync in the list of recently used apps
PhotoSync in the list of recently used apps

It is also possible that the trigger will not work directly at the time you specify. This depends on the status of your device. If iOS detects that there is activity on the device, the execution time is postponed. For example, if the device is still charging the battery and is too warm, or if an iCloud sync or other activity is in progress. iOS evaluates several factors and decides when is the best time for background activity to occur based on these factors.

PhotoSync therefore only sets up one time of day to perform an autotransfer. For example, if PhotoSync were to try to trigger an autotransfer every 5 minutes, iOS would penalize the app for using this feature too intensively and no autotransfer would be triggered. A fixed time every 24 hours, at which you are relatively sure that your device is connected to the charging cable, will give you the best results. On our devices, iOS usually triggers the autotransfer relatively quickly after the trigger time is reached. If it does take longer, it's because of the assessment iOS has made.

Autotransfer notification
Autotransfer notification

Once the autotransfer has been triggered, PhotoSync sets the time for the next autotransfer to the agreed time on the next day. The notification system of your device will notify you when the autotransfer is complete, as well as when an error occurs.

143 out of 227 found this article helpful
Was this article helpful? Yes | No

Go back

Need more help?