New photos/videos are no longer recognized. How can I fix this?

After a major iOS update or after restoring a device from a backup, PhotoSync is no longer able to recognize new photos and videos, already transferred photos and videos are marked as new. Unfortunately, this is because PhotoSync uses a so-called unique identifier to identify the photos and videos, which is assigned by iOS for all photos and videos. These identifiers change in the situations mentioned above, it can even happen that previously used identifiers are used at once for completely different photos and videos, so that it can even happen that new photos are marked as transferred and vice versa.

To fix this problem, you need to delete the list of transferred photos and videos saved in PhotoSync and then mark the photos and videos you know you've already transferred as transferred. Please proceed as follows:

Open the PhotoSync settings and switch to Service & Support

PhotoSync settings
PhotoSync settings

Now select Reset 'synced' selections in the in the Service & Diagnosis section

Service & Diagnosis settings
Service & Diagnosis settings

Confirm that you really want to reset all 'synced' selections and that your photos and videos will then be marked as 'New' again.

Confirm to reset the 'synced' selections
Confirm to reset the 'synced' selections

After resetting, you receive a confirmation of the success of the action.

Confirmation for resetting the 'synced' selections
Confirmation for resetting the 'synced' selections

Your photos and videos are now all marked 'New' again (with a blue picture frame).

All photos and videos are marked as 'New'
All photos and videos are marked as 'New'

Now select the desired photos and videos that you want to mark as transferred, e.g. with the help of the multiple selection or do without the selection if you want to mark all photos and videos as transferred and open the selection menu by tapping the footer in PhotoSync for a longer time and then lifting your finger or tapping the red transfer button and then tapping Modify selection under Send.

Tap Mark all synced if you want to mark all photos and videos as transferred or Mark selected as synced if you only want to mark your selection as transferred.

Selection menu in PhotoSync
Selection menu in PhotoSync

After the change via the selection menu, the selected photos and videos will now be marked as transferred again and all new photos and videos that are added to the photo library from now on will also be correctly recognized as new photos and videos.

Selected photos and videos are marked as 'synced'
Selected photos and videos are marked as 'synced'

77 out of 131 found this article helpful
Was this article helpful? Yes | No

Go back

Need more help?